top of page
  • Melody Bayer

Chicken "Fried" Cauliflowered Rice


First off, let me tell you, I was a HUGE skeptic of "cauliflowered rice". I am not a big cauliflower fan in general and I thought, there is no way I can trick my taste buds into thinking what I am eating is rice. And then I decided to give it a try...skepticism GONE! Now it is safe to say that I may be addicted to the stuff. So much so that I upgraded to the Costco sized bag! I've made a couple versions of this mixing in different veggies so feel free to do the same. I wanted to share my favorite with you guys! Also feel free to double up the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast

  • 1 red bell pepper

  • 3/4 cup of cauliflowered rice (I used the one from Costco, I know Trader Joe's has one as well)

  • 1/3 bag of broccoli (I used Trader Joe's)

  • 1 zucchini

  • 1 carrot

  • Olive oil spray

  • salt, pepper, garlic power (for Chicken)

  • 1-2 tablespoons of Soyaki Sauce (Trader Joe's - mock teriyaki sauce with less sugar and calories but same flavor!)

  • 1 egg --optional

  • Sriracha -- optional to add spice

  • 1-2 scallion greens to add extra flavor/garnish

Directions

Chicken: Preheat oven to 435 degrees. Season the chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Spray EVOO cooking oil on cooking sheet and bake chicken for 24 minutes. Then immediately shred using two forks to pull the meat apart or using a kitchen aid. Set aside.

Eggs: Spray EVOO cooking oil in pan and bring to medium high heat. Crack egg in and quickly scramble. Transfer egg to plate and set aside.

Vegetables: Cube the red pepper and zucchini, separate the broccoli into smaller pieces, and shave the carrot into strips. Use 1 tablespoon of olive oil, place in pan, and turn heat to medium high. Add in all of your prepped vegetables and cauliflower.You can add a little salt and pepper at this point as well. Stir fry for about 5 minutes. Stir in the chicken, egg, soyaki sauce, and sriracha. Cook for another 1-2 minutes to let the sauce soak in.

Add some chopped up scallion greens on top and maybe even a little sesame seed--serve immediately :)

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page