top of page
  • Melody Bayer

Homemade Tzatziki


If you know me, you know this is my go-to side for EVERYTHING. I literally put that sh*t on everything. Meats, veggies, rice, pasta, and use it as a dip. No shame. This is the perfect thing to snack on and not feel guilty. Bring to tailgates, watch-parties, a night in with friends, or an office snack. Bonus: It is super easy to make! This recipe is enough to share with friends:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of fat-free plain Greek yogurt (I used organic Kirkland- from Costco)

  • 1 cup of low-fat plain Greek yogurt ( I used Mountain High--I like to mix the two because I think it tastes better but you definitely do not have to!)

  • 1 English cucumber

  • 5-6 cloves of garlic

  • Sea Salt

  • Fresh Dillweed

  • Fresh Mint

Directions:

The key to a good tzatziki is to roast the garlic! I typically peel the cloves and drizzle some olive oil on them. Then i put them on the George Foreman (if you don't have one-get one!! so easy to roast veggies on it) or oven in a cast-iron until the garlic browned. You can also just place them in tinfoil to roast. Then mash the roasted garlic with 1-2 tablespoons of sea salt in a garlic press pot until it turns into a paste. Set aside.

Take the English cucumber, chop off both ends, user a grater to grate a bowl of your choice. Then add the garlic paste and two cups of yogurt. Then chop up the dill (I usually use half of the package I get from Trader Joe's) and add it into the mix. Then chop up the mint (I prefer to only use a 3-4 mint leaves but this is up to you) and add to mixture.

Serve with pita chips or fresh warm pita or use as a dip for roasted veggies!

176 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page